Day 3 of Quitting Sugar

I woke up to a number on the scale that I swore I would never get to. A weight which is over 5 pounds from my previous highest weight ever almost 5 years ago. Depressed and angry with myself, I felt divine intervention when snow caused my kids to have to stay home from school and thus me as well. I took a break from work and caught the beginning of Dr. Oz’s show entitled, “Two-week Rapid Weight Loss Diet, Pt. 1”; which aired on 1/6/14.

With a lot of thought, I decided that it was in my best interest to follow the plan. A few things that drew me to the plan was that it was two weeks and it made sense to me. Research I have been doing points to moving towards an anti-inflammation diet. My mom has been on it, strictly for the last 2-3 years and it has helped her turn her health around.  In the diet, Dr. Oz promotes some very good things and my personal enemy, SUGAR was one of them. I knew I had to get over my addiction to sugar in order to be healthier.

It’s been two full days and starting my third today with no sweets! Before you start laughing, keep in mind that sugar is my drug of choice. I don’t have a lot of vices but I can’t remember the last day where I didn’t have sweets at least a few times a day. In fact, the only sugar I have ingested in the last two days is naturally occurring sugars in the 1/2 a cup of frozen berries and 1/2 of banana I am eating in my smoothie in the morning.

Yesterday, Day 2, was really hard for me. I co-lead a workshop where there was a nice offering of donuts, chocolate chip muffins and bagels. I resisted…all freaking day!!!

I was feeling really good by the end of the day. Here are some things I think I am feeling as a result of the diet and moreover, not having sugar:

1. I am less tired

2. The “Early Afternoon Tireds” did not affect me much

3. I feel like my brain is less cloudy

4. I feel a little less edgy

5. I was hungry at dinner, but I didn’t have the cravings for sugar. In fact, I didn’t even need to eat rice with my dinner. Another huge milestone for me.

6. I didn’t have my normal 9p cravings to eat

7. My ankles were not bloated at the end of the night

Day15

Overall, I just feel so much better. I am more positive and happy! In fact, I HAVE LOST 4 POUNDS!!! It has been such a long time since I’ve seen that kind of progress!!!

Please go to this link to get more information on the diet.

One Response to “Day 3 of Quitting Sugar”

  1. Naly Vang Says:

    Keep it up!!! I need to cut out sugar too!

Leave a Reply

